Menu

Visit the Bush School

We run a Bush School at Central Gardens, Merrylands, with engaging programs for children in a natural outdoor environment.

Finding excitement in nature

Bush School is a casual, community based program that allows children to learn about and experience nature. For families with limited outdoor areas, it can offer a wide range of benefits. Children can:

  • Learn about changes in seasons, light, weather, wildlife, plants and trees
  • Appreciate biodiversity – including insects, plants and animals
  • Develop a sense of space and learn about Aboriginal values towards the land
  • Get a sense of caring for our natural environment
  • Help develop physical skills, communication, observation, social skills, creativity, teamwork, emotional well-being and self-esteem

All community members are welcome to visit the Bush School. 

Upcoming dates 

Here are our upcoming Bush School sessions for 2023. Sessions run from 10am to 11am.

  • Monday 6 February 
  • Monday 6 March 
  • Monday 3 April
  • Monday 1 May
  • Monday 5 June
  • Monday 3 July
  • Monday 7 August
  • Monday 4 September
  • Monday 9 October
  • Monday 6 November 
  • Monday 4 December

Registrations are essential, only 1 ticket is required per family. 

Further information

For more information phone 8757 9000 or email: council@cumberland.nsw.gov.au