Council will be updating its systems from 4pm on Tuesday 3 December until 9am on Wednesday 11 December 2019. Find out more


Fire Safety Schedules, Certificates and penalties

Whether your building is new or altered, you must comply with any Fire Safety Schedule issued and supply a Fire Safety Certificate.

Fire Safety Schedules

Fire Safety Schedules list the measures required to be taken and the standard they need to meet. A Fire Safety Schedule can be issued:

  • By Cumberland Council or an accredited certifier in relation to a construction or complying development certificate
  • By Cumberland Council in some cases with a Development Consent – such as for a change of use in an existing building.

A fire safety schedule is only applicable if any of the above occurred after 1988.

Fire Safety Certificates

For new or altered buildings

  • A Fire Safety Certificate (which is the first certificate issued) must be provided for each new or altered essential fire safety measure.
  • An additional Fire Safety Statement must be supplied to Cumberland Council every year. This needs to happen within 12 months after the Fire Safety Certificate was issued.
  • The Statement will certify that a competent Fire Safety Practitioner has inspected the building and found that all required fire-safety measures are compliant with relevant standards.

For existing buildings

  • An annual Fire Safety Statement needs to be submitted to Cumberland Council every year, within 12 months of your first Fire Safety Statement.
  • This will certify that a competent Fire Safety Practitioner has inspected each of the measures listed in the most recent Fire Safety Schedule, and that each measure operates to standards required.